Layover announce new EP ‘Your Laughter Never Leaves’ and stream new single

Birmingham based punk rockers Layover have revealed that their brand new EP ‘Your Laughter Never Leaves’ will be released on the 4th May via Fox Records. After their hiatus in 2016 this announcement comes as the formal mark of the bands return after they stopped writing music together in 2017. Vocalist Luke Rainsford reveals that their initial song for inspiration for the title: “It’s the track that we believe has the strongest message and one we feel a lot of different people can relate to across a wide range of situations.” Slumber is also available to stream here. Rainsford has also commented that “I feel like the emotion and passion that can be heard throughout this song will draw anybody in to keep listening. It is also the direction we wish to continue to take the band in the future.”

Layover consists of Luke Rainsford (Vocals) Dominic Cattell (Guitar), Elliot Wallett (Bass) and Brad Fisher (Drums), this 2018 version of Layover can be considered a clean slate. After forming in 2014 and previously releasing “very DIY” material that is misaligned with their renewed energy and considered aesthetic, Rainsford explains: “The sound of our old music does not represent us, and we have matured as musicians and people since then. We come with a new direction to start in a genre we are more passionate about.” It is therefore a happy coincide that their Bukowski derived name is still suited: “Layover by definition is a rest or a wait before a further stage in a journey. We felt this was relevant to the stage we were all at in our lives,”Rainsford recalls.

Your Laughter Never Leaves’ is made up of 5 wonderful tracks of emo with a pop-punk heart. With the band citing influences such as Tiny Moving Parts, Tigers Jaw and The Wonder Years, they address topics of mental health and loss, sensitively and sincerely. In their own words: “We are bringing a sound that is predominantly based within the American market. Our honesty and intense live shows bring a refreshing atmosphere that we feel sets us apart, but ultimately we are just 4 close friends trying to share our music.


Layover Release EP ‘Your Laughter Never Leaves’ Via Fox Records On 04/05/18. Pre-Order the album here:
Digital: https://foxrecords.bandcamp.com/album/your-laughter-never-leaves
Physical (CD & Ltd. Edition 12” Vinyl): http://foxrecords.limitedrun.com/
Stream Lead Single ‘Slumber’ Now: https://youtu.be/6vEb1Hj6rAM

More From Layover: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Leave a Reply