Album Review: MDC – Mein Trumpf



MDC –Mein Trumpf

Release date: 3rd November 2017

Record Label: Primordial Records

Millions of Dead Cops also known as MDC are an American punk rock band that formed in Austin, Texas back in 1981 as The Stains. The band plays fast hardcore punk music whilst supporting their far-left socio-political views. The band has been quiet for a short while with new music but here they are again after 13 years with their new album.

So the album kicks off with Track 1 – Mein Trumpf, within the first line it is obvious who this song is aimed at if you couldn’t already tell by the name. The song starts with someone chanting ‘build that wall’ repeatedly before we are assisted with guitar, drums, bass and vocals. Throughout the band is comparing to Mein Kampf and Mein Trumpf, sharing their views on the situation. The song has strong elements of old school punk and reminds me of the Dead Kennedys throughout whilst fighting modern issues. The chorus of the song is extremely catchy and overall an amazing song full of passion.

The next song we have is Track 2 – Working For Satan which comes in full force, full aggression, and full passion. The song is only 2 minutes long but it is cram packed with the best riffs, drums and informative lyrics. A few songs down Track 6 – Just For Today which takes a full turn. We are introduced with someone who appears to be at an addiction anonymous before the instruments come into play. The song repeats the phrase ‘it’s a beautiful day’ a lot throughout, the song is full of passion and has an upbeat and positive vibe to it. It’s one of those songs which will get everyone up singing and dancing with their mates without a doubt.

Another song that really poked out was Track 8 – Mouth Full Of Gimme. The songs starts with drums and guitar, which off the bat get you headbanging before grinding to a halt as we have a short guitar solo which is then accompanied with bass, vocals and drums. The song has a fast beat to it as it goes on making it more of a song to windmill to than head bang, unless you want to risk whiplash. We are joined by group vocals which adds at great atmosphere to the song whilst we are yet again informed with the beliefs of the band. Next up we have Track 11 – Merry Fucking Christmas which starts off with what appears to be marching band drums before we are joined with some jingle bells and then of course some drums, bass and guitar. A short but amazing song which is bound to be played by any punk lover this holiday season.

The final song on the album is Track 12 – Born To Die No Trump No KKK. Now this wouldn’t be a MDC song without a chant to start off the song, would it? This is probably the most aggressive song on the album with guitars galore, a steady beat and passionate vocals. The song brings the album to a solid close but is still full to the brim of energy. Overall this album is a must, if you don’t like it at first listen to it again and it’s bound to grow on you. The albums brings old school punk with modern day issues which is what the music industry needs.

Recommended Tracks: Born To Die No Trump No KKK, Merry Fucking Christmas and Just For Today.

Rating: 10/10

Dave Dictor – Vocals Al Shultz – Drums Mike Smith – Bass Russ Kalita – Guitar Jason Smith – Guitar

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/mdcpunkbandofficial/

Twitter – https://www.twitter.com/MdcPunk